Do You Believe You Could Do Something?

I was sitting at the table when my friend asked me that jokingly.

Do you believe you could still do something about Global Warming?

The last time I had talked to her was when I joined my classmates on visiting the Marine Lab to look for some thesis ideas,  when I was so enjoying in  forming  my kneadable eraser like it was some piece of clay on top of my new 4B pencil.  I had made it into a mouse, sorta like Stuart Little!  And I was proud of the childishness and joy I found in myself that day.  I left my classmates and we had lunch together then I grabbed her to Baybay with me for just some waste of time.  A sorta waste of time for her.  I got an exam by 2PM, but I gotta send my brother and sister their allowances.  My OJT stipend just got in so, it’s my honor. Then, I let her join me in whatever business I got.  Maybe, she got so amused with my total carelessness that day.  The butter-finger-ness that was so there.  My spending a long time just to buy a pair of scissors.  Then after a couple of weeks, we got to stick around that Thursday.

It was a firm “Yes” that escaped my lips.  Not a hint of doubt.  Never.  I can’t be that negative.  Letting go of the inquiry then I continued on with whatever else I was talking about.  Her handing me of the notes she was reviewing got me shocked with what I was needing to learn –  a lot.  There were many many factors to consider.  She got amused with the expression on my face.  Both the project and my thesis were environment-related.  A future forester should know enough about the contraints I was about to face.

Hours after  (after the exams, meetings and library digging), me and that friend were sitting at the beach.  Enjoying the scenes we capture with our eyes.  A lot to talk about.  Still a lot even after a lot of talk earlier.  I’ve been with her since noon.  Then the topics are still coming in.

Then she said, “remember that I asked you if you believe you could still do something? I asked you because even I, myself , no longer believe that there’s still hope“.  We were talking about the environment that time.  So, a friendly argument settled in.  Me, explaining while I still believe such as she listened to me ending up talking about the project, about our chances, about OLPC, then about the XO laptops to the point that I was tackling hardware.  It was so obvious to her that I was having a hard time trying to explain about the Computer Science part and it also became obvious to me that I no longer need elaborating because she gets my point.

So, why did I ask a non-believing future forester to join the team?

Because I know better that even though she isn’t hopeful, she would not miss a chance to act upon the issues we are facing.

So, i’m proud to introduce my friend, Flordeliza Radam, as one of the new member of the GreenThumb Project.  A non-programmer to help us refine the whole game concept, add fresh ideas and give corrections.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

